Weekend Coffee Share – 9/3/22

Good morning! I am fresh from a good night’s sleep aided by Imitrex. Please join me for some coffee or tea and please excuse the mess (and the fact I haven’t showered in over a week). You’ll have to serve yourself as I am on mandatory bedrest.

I had my foot surgery on the 23rd and survived it. So far anyway. I have six incisions in my foot and two very long pins sticking out of two of my toes. I have a photo, but I am not sharing. It’s not at all pretty. After a week of recovery, I had to make an emergency trip into the doctor due to my foot being numb/icy and constantly with pins and needles. More concerning is not feeling any pain. The pins and needles were to be expected as the nerves regenerate, although it should be shocks of pins and needles, not constant. Turns out my foot is extremely swollen and as a result, my nerves are compressed. There is blood flow to my foot so that is good. The doctor poked around on my foot and was quite pleased when he found the one spot that had me squeal in pain. “That’s a good sign” he says. Hmmmm. I know I am supposed to have pain, and I may have a decent tolerance, but this is not right. Anyway, I am on mandatory bedrest with my leg elevated with instructions to “do absolutely nothing”. I am scheduled to get my sutures out Thursday – God Willing.

If we were having coffee, I would share that I am so looking forward to Fall. Autumn is my favorite season and no, not because of pumpkin spice. We have an apple harvest festival here every year during the first two weekends in October and I do hope I am able to walk again by that point. Although we go there for apple everything, there is also a ginormous pit beef stop that is TO DIE FOR. Of course, I cannot eat the buns, but that’s ok. I slather that beef up with horseradish and bbq sauce and eat it with my fingers. I am not shy.

The “party” house

If we were having coffee, I would share that my husband and I met up with an old friend (Tom) last Sunday. When we were teenagers, Tom’s house was the place for many parties. So many people in our small little borough were acquainted with the parties held there. The infamous party house was being sold and we went to say “goodbye”. We had a lot of laughs remembering those days. We all reminisced on is how different our borough is now. When we were teens, the police (who unfortunately knew many of us by name) were less rigid. Our parents let us run wild. But then again, the biggest “drug” then was pot. Heroin and the scary shit out there now was not heard of except in the big cities. And, our borough was close-knit then. Everyone knew everyone. My husband told the story of an event where his BB gun barrel was bent and he tried to shoot it – he hit a kid in the butt. The kid’s father was a state trooper. He was going to press charges, but the borough police told the trooper that my husband was scheduled to leave for basic training and that would cause problems. Instead the trooper made my husband go to church with him and his family. Nowadays, that kind of concern just doesn’t seem to happen anymore.

Well, thank you all for stopping by. Thanks to Natalie the Explorer for hosting! I hope you all have a great start to September.

Published by SadiRose

Blogging gets the noise in my head out...at least for a little while. I use blogging to weed through all that noise and find the humor in each situation, even if it takes some time to find it. I am not selling anything, just sharing experiences as a mother, Amma, wife, paralegal, volunteer, Muslimah, sister, daughter, mother-in-law, woman.

7 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share – 9/3/22

  1. Hi Sadi Rose,
    What did I miss – what happened that led to you having big pins sticking out of your toes. . . ?
    That sound – um – huge, and uncomfortable.
    It also sounds dangerous – trying to keep you still for this long – your husband must be worried that this idea will certainly fail.
    Whatever IT was/is, I hope your full recovery is only a few hours away.
    Blessings

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Earthly Comforts

Wildlife Journal Inspired By Nature

Thoughts & Theories

My Personal Rants, Ravings, & Ruminations

This, That, and the Other

Stories, Prompts, and Musings

The Ramblings of E.M. Kingston

...writing from the heart

Frozen in the Fire

Rising up through Grace

The Anxious Violet

Living the Dream with Anxiety

J-Dub's Grin and Bear It

As Always, More to Come

My Inner MishMash

What plays in my brain.

Keep it alive

A look at life, achieving good physical and mental health and happiness

Wide Eyed In Wonder

Mozambican-born Portuguese South African; reflecting on travel, writing, editing, life, family and change that has social impact; chief wide eyed in wanderer, wonderer and bottlewasher

Trent's World (the Blog)

Random Ramblings and Reviews from Trent P. McDonald

Eat, Play, Live

Doing things that bring me joy

Breaks in the Day

Stray Coffee, Tea, and Thoughts

Gary A Wilson Stories

A Dime of Time: Mostly 10 Minute Stories, Fiction and Memoirs

pamelascanepa

The blog of Pamela Schloesser Canepa....reflections on writing, family, dogs, learning, books, and almost everything from mundane to weird.

Adventures of A Silver Fox!

Adventurous Mom, Empty Nester and Silver Fox....Enjoying Life one Day at a Time!

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started